A Super Bowl, But Not Super Ratings

February 06, 2017

By Justin Lasher

 

The Super Bowl is traditionally one of the most watched events each calendar year.  Whether you watch for the commercials, or the halftime show, or even just for the game itself, you are joining many millions of viewers in front of the television to tune in.  The potential of Tom Brady and Bill Belichick winning their fifth Super Bowl Championship should have been reason enough to draw record numbers, right?  According to early ratings reports, via an article written by Thomas Barrabi on foxbusiness.com (http://www.foxbusiness.com/features/2017/02/06/super-bowl-51-tv-ratings-gaga-sees-spike-but-patriots-comeback-can-t-top-record.html), ratings prove otherwise.

The short of it is that almost three quarters of all American homes turned their TV’s to Fox last night to view the Patriots vs. Falcons Super Bowl.  While that may seem like a boatload of viewers, the ratings actually dropped from 2016.  It wasn’t a huge dip in ratings from last year to this year, however a dip is not what Roger Goodell and the NFL wants to hear.  This follows a year long trend of losses in television ratings for the NFL.

There are numerous reasons why I feel ratings continue to be down for arguably, America’s most popular sport.  All reasons, in my opinion, have to do with everything but the sport itself.  The biggest factor to me is that when I tune in to watch the NFL (or any sporting event for that matter) it is to be entertained and take me away from any of life’s stresses and headaches, even for a short period.  I don’t watch sports for the social justice stances of athletes.  I don’t tune in to hear what Brady, Belichick, or anyone else thinks of President Trump.  I am not watching to be swayed on what products to purchase, whether I need them or not.  I am watching sports, because as a former athlete myself, I can connect in a sense to these professionals as they live out a dream that I once shared.  I watch sports for pure entertainment and enjoyment purposes.  Quite frankly, I am an adult, who can come to my own opinions and beliefs, without needing to be influenced by others.  And because the NFL has fallen victim to greed, it feels it needs to shove all this crap down my throat until I gag on it.    And that has turned me off largely to “needing” to tune in to “do I want to” tune in and watch.

Like I mentioned earlier, there are many reasons NFL viewership ratings are down.  Share with us why you think the Super Bowl ratings were down.

Leave a Reply

